Question: Who won the Nascar championship in 2007?

Jimmie Johnson, the 2007 Nextel Cup Series champion. This was the second of his five consecutive titles.

Who won the 2008 NASCAR championship?

Jimmie Johnson, the 2008 Sprint Cup Series champion. This was the third of his five consecutive titles. Carl Edwards came in second behind Johnson by 69 points.

Who won the NASCAR championship in 2006?

Jimmie Johnson, the 2006 Nextel Cup Series champion. This was the first of his five consecutive titles. Matt Kenseth finished second behind Johnson by 56 points. Denny Hamlin finished third in the championship and also won Rookie of the Year.

Did Dale Earnhardt Jr win a championship?

Although Earnhardt never won a championship, his impact has been felt throughout the racing world building a career as NASCAR’s top ambassador while finding a crossover audience that stretched far beyond his father’s reach.

Who won the NASCAR 2009 championship?

Jimmie Johnson, the 2009 Sprint Cup Series champion. This was the fourth of his five consecutive titles. Mark Martin came in second behind Johnson by 141 points. It was his first full season since 2006.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: How long is Forza Motorsport 7?

Who won the 2001 NASCAR championship?

NASCAR Cup Series Champions

Year No. Champion
2001 24 Jeff Gordon
2000 18 Bobby Labonte
1999 88 Dale Jarrett
1998 24 Jeff Gordon

Who won the 2011 NASCAR championship?

Tony Stewart celebrates his third NASCAR Cup Series championship at Homestead in 2011. If the way Stewart won the title wasn’t weird enough, members of the media and fans around the world had no idea what was about to transpire after Stewart hoisted the Sprint Cup championship trophy.

Who won the NASCAR championship in 1994?

Dale Earnhardt of Richard Childress Racing was crowned champion at season’s end, winning consecutive Winston Cups for the third time in his career and tying Richard Petty for the record of most top-level NASCAR championships with seven.

Who won the 2016 NASCAR championship?

Jimmie Johnson of Hendrick Motorsports won his seventh drivers’ championship, tying Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt for most all-time. Toyota won the manufacturer’s championship, becoming the first manufacturer to win the manufacturer’s championship other than Chevrolet since 2002.

Who won the 1998 NASCAR championship?

The 1998 Winston Cup Champion Jeff Gordon. It was Gordon’s third championship in four years.

What years did Earnhardt win championships?

After winning his first Cup championship in 1980, it was somewhat surprising that Earnhardt struggled for several more seasons before winning his second crown in 1986. To prove that, consider how he finished in each season from 1981 through 1985: seventh, 12th, eighth, fourth and eighth.

How many championships has Dale Jr won?

won seven NASCAR Cup Series championships in his career. Nobody has more. He chalked up 76 Cup Series victories and finished in the top 10 428 times. He won the Daytona 500 in 1998.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Is car racing legal in India?

Who is greatest NASCAR driver of all time?

Greatest NASCAR Drivers of All Time

  • Mark Martin. NASCAR driver Mark Martin gets into his car in the garage during practice for the 2008 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Pocono 500 in Long Pond, Pennsylvania.
  • Kurt Busch. …
  • Buck Baker. …
  • Alan Kulwicki. …
  • Martin Truex Jr. …
  • Davey Allison. …
  • Brad Keselowski. …
  • Denny Hamlin. …

Who won the 2010 Nascar championship?

Jimmie Johnson, the 2010 Sprint Cup Series champion. This was the fifth of his five consecutive titles. Denny Hamlin came in second behind Johnson by 39 points.

How is Nascar Rookie of the Year determined?

From the 1958 through the 1973 seasons, NASCAR did not have an official points system to determine the Rookie of the Year, so NASCAR’s officials merely gathered together to select a winner. … As of the 2018 season, the rookie of the Year points are the same as the championship points.