Best answer: Who won the Indy 500 in 2017?

Who won the 2016 Indy 500?

It was the premier event of the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series season. In a shocking finish, 24 year-old rookie Alexander Rossi of Andretti Herta Autosport won the race on fuel mileage over Carlos Muñoz and Josef Newgarden.

Who won the 2018 Indy 500?

A.J. Foyt, Al Unser, Rick Mears and Helio Castroneves have won the Indianapolis 500 four times. FILE – Al Unser is congratulated by his mother after winning the 54th running of the Indianapolis 500 auto race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Ind. May 30, 1970.

Who won the Indy 500 in 2015?

2015 Indianapolis 500

Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Indianapolis 500
Winner Juan Pablo Montoya
Winning team Team Penske
Average speed 161.341 mph (259.653 km/h)

Who won the 1957 Indy 500?

The event was part of the 1957 USAC National Championship Trail and it was race 3 of 8 in the 1957 World Championship of Drivers. Sam Hanks won the Indianapolis 500 in his thirteenth attempt (the most such by any 500 winner).

Who won 2019 Indy 500?

The Indianapolis 500 celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2011. In 2016 it celebrates another milestone: its 100th running.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Why do F1 drivers have a chaperone?

How many times has the Indy 500 been run?

The inaugural race was held in 1911 and was won by Ray Harroun. The event celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2011, and the 100th running was held in 2016. The event was put on hiatus twice, from 1917 to 1918 due to World War I and from 1942 to 1945 due to World War II. Hélio Castroneves is the current champion.

Who Won Indy 500 most times?

Most career victories

Legendary drivers A.J. Foyt (1961, ’64, ’67, ’77), Al Unser (1970-71, ’78, ’87) and Rick Mears (pictured, 1979, ’84, ’88, ’91) share the record for most Indianapolis 500 victories, each having earned the Borg-Warner trophy four times.

Who is the oldest Indy 500 winner?

Al Unser Sr. after winning the Indy 500 for the fourth time (Getty Images). His final victory at age 47 made him the oldest winner in Indy 500 history. He dominated in his first Indy win in 1970 by starting from the pole and leading all but 10 of the 200 laps.

Who is the oldest living Indy 500 winner?

Following the death of 1960 Indianapolis 500 winner Jim Rathmann, Jones is now the oldest living “500” winner.

Parnelli Jones.

Rufus “Parnelli” Jones
34 races run over 12 years
Best finish 33rd – 1958 (Grand National)
First race 1956 Merced Fairgrounds Speedway

Is Tony Stewart racing?

After a 20-year NASCAR driving career, the last 18 of which were spent in the NASCAR Cup Series, Stewart retired from his NASCAR driving duties following the 2016 season to focus on his co-ownership of Stewart-Haas Racing (SHR) with industrialist Gene Haas, and to partake in the kind of open-wheel dirt racing where his …

THIS IS INTERESTING:  You asked: How are Nascar points earned?

Is Hamilton the first black F1 driver?

Lewis Hamilton, in full Lewis Carl Hamilton, (born January 7, 1985, Stevenage, England), British race-car driver who was one of the most successful Formula One (F1) Grand Prix racing drivers of all time. In 2008 he became the first Black driver to win the F1 world drivers’ championship. …

Who won F1 in 1985?

The 1985 FIA Formula One World Championship was the 39th season of FIA Formula One motor racing. It began on 7 April and ended on 3 November after sixteen races. The World Championship for Drivers was won by Alain Prost, and the World Championship for Manufacturers was won by McLaren for the second consecutive year.